Russia claims second consecutive European Champions Cup


After overtime win last year, the 2006 edition gets decided after penalty shots.

Dynamo Moscow -- Kärpät Oulu, 5-4 (1-0, 1-2, 2-2, 0-0, 1-0)

Dynamo won its first ever European club title in their tenth attempt, but it took a penalty shootout (Game Winning Shots) against a resilient Kärpät Oulu to claim it.

The loss is sour for Kärpät who have been so close in both editions of the ECC but remain empty handed. Last year they were beaten in overtime by Russian Avangard Omsk.

Igor Mirnov scored the game and ECC winner in the fifth round of the shootout. His shot beat Niklas Bäckström high on the glove side. Jari Viuhkola had the chance to get even but his shot wide became the last action of this thrilling final as the Dynamo players poured into the ice and mobbed goaltender Sergei Zvyagin who made four saves in the shootout. Only Kalle Sahlstedt managed to beat the Russian goalie with a high shot. Also Vadim Shakhraitchouk scored in the fourth shootout round.

Dynamo seemed to manage the historic win in regulation as they jumped to 4-2-lead early in the third period through goals from Mikhail Grabovsky (his seventh point of the tournament) and defenseman Leonid Kanareikin.

But Kärpät stormed back with two goals between 16.18 and 17.35. Mika Pyörälä, in PP, used a nifty backhand following a face-off to get Kärpät close and Viktor Ujcik’s deflection was the equalizer.

Both teams had one power-play each in the ten-minute overtime period, but they didn’t manage to score. Juha-Pekka Haataja kept the game even when he scored the 2-2-goal with two seconds remaining of the second period. Aleksander Kharitonov and Maksim Sushinsky also scored for Dynamo while Kalle Sahlstedt got Kärpät going with the 1-1-equalizer in the second.

Dynamo outshot Kärpät 44-23.

Story added on 8th January 2006 at 21:58 GMT
Story submitted by: Joeri Loonen.



Your Ad Here