Grenoble to host the 2010 Continental Cup Super Final


Yunost Minsk invited to the Super Final played in France for the second year in a row.

The format of the 2009-10 Continental Cup is now set with French League champion Grenoble hosting the Super Final. “Les Bruleurs de Loups”, the local team, has won all 3 French trophies last season (Magnus League title, French Cup and League Cup). Grenoble will host the Continental Cup Super Final one year after another French team, Rouen and two years after hosting a Continental Cup semi-final.

In 2007-08, Grenoble finished third in the semi-final round after a final loss in a dramatic shoot-out against Aalborg. Aalborg and Torpedo Kazzinc advanced then to the final played in Riga.

In 2008-09, Rouen hosted the Super final, finishing second behind last year winner, MHC Martin.

Yunost Minsk is also directly qualified to the Super Final. The Belarusian champion won the Continental Cup in 2007 and will try to repeat. The two other spots will be awarded to the winners of the semi-final groups played in Bolzano (Italy) and Liepaja (Latvia).

The Bolzano Foxes, were already part of the Super Final played in Rouen last season. The Italian champion finished third with two wins and will try to play a second Super Final in a row. Sheffield Steelers (UK) and HDK Maribor (Slovenia) will be their opponents along with a team qualified from the previous rounds.

Liepajas Metalurgs, will face tough competition with Sokil Kyiv (Ukraine) and Red Bull Salzburg (Austria). Last season, the Latvian champion also hosted a semi-final but failed to advance to the Super final, with a third place ranking behind Keramin Minsk and Sokil Kyiv.

First round, September 25th-27th, 2009:
Group A (Ankara, Turkey) :
tr Polis Akademisi Ankara (TUR)
il Herzliya Pituah (ISR)
es FC Barcelona (ESP)
bg Slavia Sofia (BUL)

Second round, October 23rd-25th, 2009:
Group B (Miercurea Ciuc, Romania) :
ro SC Miercurea Ciuc (ROU)
hu Ujpest Budapest (HUN)
nl HYS The Hague (NED)
Winner Group A

Group C (Krakow, Poland) :
pl Cracovia Krakow (POL)
ee Tallinn Stars (EST)
lt Energija Elektrenai (LTU)
kz Sary-Arka Karaganda (KAZ)

Third round, November 27th-29th, 2009:
Group D (Bolzano, Italy) :
it Bolzano Foxes (ITA)
uk Sheffield Steelers (GBR)
si HDK Maribor (SLO)
Winner Group B

Group E (Liepaja, Latvia) :
lv Liepajas Metalurgs (LAT)
ua Sokil Kyiv (UKR)
at Red Bull Salzburg (AUT)
Winner Group C

Super Final, January 15th-17th, 2010:
Group F (Grenoble, France) :
fr Grenoble Brűleurs de Loups (FRA)
by Yunost Minsk (BLR)
Winner Group D
Winner Group E

Story added on 5th July 2009 at 10:53 GMT
Story submitted by: Chris Laparra.



Your Ad Here